KanHan Honored with China Nomination to 2005 World Summit Award

(Hong Kong, September 9, 2005) Three Hong Kong and five Mainland China websites and IT projects are nominated to win the United Nations’ “World Summit Award” (WSA), one of the most important global ICT events. The World Summit Award is a global contest organized by United Nations’ World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS). It aims to help bridge the digital divide and is held within the framework of the World Summit on the Information Society, a global project initiated by the United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) at 2003.


The WSA comprises eight categories: e-Learning, e-Business, e-Entertainment, e-Culture, e-Government, e-Health, e-Science, and e-Inclusion – a category for least developed countries. There are in total 168 participating countries, while over 1,300 websites/projects are competing for the 40 World’s Best e-contents and application. Besides the Winners Gala, which will take place on 17 November in Tunis at the United Nations’ World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS), the WSA Grand Jury Meeting during September will be held in Bahrain, where the best five among the eight categories will be chosen.


Advised by Mr. Ma Song De, Ministry of Science and Technology of the People’s Republic of China, the “2005 Nominees Panel of World Summit Award, China and Hong Kong” was composed by 5 mainland professionals elected from Beijing Municipal Science and Technology Commission, and 5 Hong Kong experts from Internet Professional Association of Hong Kong. They are responsible to nominate the 8 Best e-contents and application among China and Hong Kong.


The Hong Kong nominees are KanHan’s “Hear the Web” “e-Channel”, and “HK Education City”, and China nominees include “Tianfu Agriculture Information Network”, “Chinaculture.org“, “Hero of 3 Kingdoms”, “Drug Discovery Grid”, and “Virtual Science Museums of China”. A presentation ceremony was held at the “2005 China Internet Conference” in Beijing on 2 September 2005. The winners were honored by Prof. Peter A. Bruck, Chairman of the WSA and Advisor of the United Nations’ ICT Task Force. Mr. Lai Tung Kwok, Director of Immigration Department, HKSAR; Mr. Lawrence Mo, CEO of Kan Han Technologies Limited; and Mr. Tan Qun Zhao, CTO and Vice President of Shanda Networking Company Limited, etc. were awarded at the ceremony.